1. Skip to content

Naomi Adie

Date of Birth: 01/06/1980

Where do you live? Holme Hale, Norfolk

I am originally from Devon and joined the Royal Air Force at the age of 20 and completed two tours of Afghanistan, Northern Ireland during 14 and a half years of service before being medically discharged due to an injury and mental health problems. I am now a wheelchair user. I am married and have a daughter who is 10. Both my daughter and husband are scottish. I currently am programme Manager of the Endeavour Fund which provides seed funding for wounded, injured and sick service personnel and veterans to take part in sport and adventurous activities to regain their self worth and aid their rehabilitation. In 2018 I represented Team UK at the Invictus games in Sydney in wheelchair racing, gaining 2 bronze and a silver medal. I also play para Ice hockey and one of only a few female players in the UK.

Why Did You Want To Get Involved In This Girl Can?

I have been as low as you can be due to injury and mental health problems and when you are faced with your world completely changing you think you can no longer do things that you did before but that is simply not true you just have to adapt and over come and sport and fitness are so important to enable you to live a healthy life but also enable you to be surrounded by people who will always be their to support you when times are tough. I want to show any woman that is on a journey from a life changing situation, mental health, or injury that you can achieve anything you want.

Who Inspires You?

My daughter, she is the reason I always want to do my best because I want her to know that no matter what happens in your life, good or bad anything is achievable.

What Are Your Top 3 Tips Of Getting/Staying Active?

• Never be afraid of being the only girl in the room,
• Always believe in your ability,
• someone is always watching you achieve your goals, be that ripple effect to change others thought on ability.